A women’s issue – size zero

OK gals, so I’m guessing that I’m not the only one who wonders where size zero came from…I mean I know where it came from, but it never used to exist before right? The smallest you would usually find in most clothes stores was a size 4 (size 8 in the UK), and then came the size zero phenomenon (size 4 in the UK) and girls who were already naturally skinny were made to feel large and girls who were naturally large, well I think you can guess. So why do so many women, mostly celebrities and teenagers, buy into something which was quite clearly invented to control us? Does anyone really want to be a size 0, a nothing?

It seems as though women in general have made so much progress and stood up to so much oppression in so many areas of life, and yet when it comes to our weight we still allow ourselves to be judged. I say we boycott size zero, size nothing, and say you know what I am something, I am more than nothing, and no fashionista or bitchy self-loathing woman is going to make me feel small, in every sense of the word.

Leave a Reply

